New York goodies, day four

I was in New York for four days. This is what I ate on day four.

Jerk chicken from a tiny hole-in-the-wall in Brooklyn, called Taste of the Island. It was served with plantains, salad and rice. Deeeelicious.
-I passed by Tom’s Restaurant, made famous in the Suzanne Vega/DNA song “Tom’s Diner“. You know, the one with the almost-annoying-but-stupidly-catchy chorus of do-do-do-do-do-do-do-do.
-I joined the huge lineup outside of Cake Man Raven’s just in time to get the last slice of the city’s best red velvet cake. The moist, shockingly red cake is frosted with cream cheese icing, and the edge is finished with candied walnuts. It was $5 for a huge piece that I ate over the course of two days.
-I had a strawberry ice cream cone from The Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory, which I enjoyed while walking along the river in DUMBO (Down Under the Manhattan Bridge Overpass).
-I got a selection of chocolates from Jacques Torres’ Chocolate Factory. I got a PB&J chocolate (exactly what you imagine: peanut butter ganache with grape jelly, dipped in milk chocolate), an earl-grey cardamom truffle, dipped in dark chocolate, a triple chocolate truffle that was slightly disappointing, and a citrus truffle with dark chocolate finish.
Curry pie, made by my gracious host. It was a vegan curry pie, no less – and quite tasty.

Leave a Reply

