Happy hallowe’ener!

In preparation for tonight, I’m sprucing up last weekend’s hallowe’en costume. I’m going as Spongebob Squarepants, and the focal point of the costume is the giant yellow car-washing sponges that I sewed together with fishing line. It’s raining in Vancouver (as usual) and I’m a bit concerned that I’ll soak up rainwater and topple over from the sheer weight of it. Hmmm.

I’m carving pumpkins later tonight and am excited for the pumpkin seeds. I dry them out for a day or so, and then bake them in a low oven (about 300F) with sea salt and pepper. Tasty.

As an aside, carving pumpkins are not pie pumpkins. Pie pumpkins are much smaller, and making pie out of pie pumpkins means you end up elbow-deep in pumpkin goo, boiling down a mess of orange mush for hours until you get one cup of acceptable pie base. Trust me: it’s really not worth it. Go out an buy a can of E.D. Smith pumpkin, which not only gives you a pretty decent pumpkin pie recipe, but contains enough pumpkin to make two (!) delicious pies.

3 responses to “Happy hallowe’ener!

  1. Hahaha, the image of you toppling over from the shear weight of giant yellow sponges strapped on to you is hilarious!
    I’ve never had pumpkin seeds with pepper – I’ll have to try that sometime.

  2. You are so cool. I must see pics of this spongey get up and fast!!!
    miss you!
    d.

  3. thewelltemperedchocolatier

    Pete, you’ll have to try it. I love black pepper, and put on a healthy amount of it. Another variation is to use cayenne pepper – but I’d be a little stingier with the cayenne than with the black pepper.

    Pemby, check your email…

Leave a Reply

