RIP, Aurora Bistro

The Well-Tempered Chocolatier is nominated in the Best of 604 awards!  Click here to vote!

I walked by Aurora Bistro last night, and was saddened to see that the rumours are true.  After five great years, Aurora is no more.

To be honest, I’ve only eaten there a handful of times.  Their brunch was top-notch, in terms of getting value and tastiness.  I loved their eggs benedict was great, and I’m notoriously picky about my Hollandaise sauce.  Their bacon and eggs, if you can call it that, was beautiful.  I can’t remember the exact details, but there was definitely a quail’s egg and proscuitto. 

But oh! the donuts.  The donuts were divine.  These were no ordinary donuts – they were beignet-style (that is, balls of dough dropped into the deep fryer) and would arrive at your table piping hot, smelling like cinnamon and orange.  There were seven to an order, a pyramid of donuts drizzled with orange-scented honey.  It got to a point where the waiter would ask if we wanted donuts, but he was just going through the motions. He knew there was no way we would say no.

I think the Beatles got it wrong.  Happiness is a warm donut  (or two, or three) and a pot of freshly brewed coffee at Aurora Bistro.

I remember one night when I heading home on the bus.  For some inexplicable reason, I thought of these donuts and I was consumed by an acute, physical need to have them. It was the closest I’ve gotten to experiencing what I can only imagine chemical addiction must feel like.  I literally could not think of anything else: I could taste them, smell them, feel them in my stomach, even hear them bubbling away in the kitchen.  It was the most intense craving I’ve ever experienced.

Well, now I’ve done it.  I’ve got donuts on the brain, and nowhere to get my fix.  Someone get Jeff van Geest a new restaurant, stat.

Aurora Bistro (now closed)
2420 Main Street
Vancouver, BC
604-873-9944
http://www.aurorabistro.ca
Aurora Bistro on Urbanspoon

2 responses to “RIP, Aurora Bistro

  1. Oh no! The girlfriend and I went when we were in Vancouver in July, and it’s now history?

  2. b*, it makes me sad. Everything I like gets discontinued – so really, marketers should be beating down my door to figure out what I like, so they know what *not* to bring to market.

Leave a Reply

