Pomegranates made easy

Oh, I know. Pomegranates are so last year. This year’s hot fruit is the acai berry, but since I associate acai berries with my mom’s medicinal soups, I refuse to acknowledge their hipness.

EDIT: I meant to say goji berries. My mom puts goji berries in her medicinal soups that look like sludge and taste like dirty socks. Goji berries are also quite hip, but I’m pretty sure acai berries hold the current throne for It fruit.

But pomegranates! Before the antioxidant throne was usurped by acai berries, pomegranates were the It Thing. It’s trickled its way down the marketing stream, and now you can buy pomegranate juice (straight or blended with other juices) at your local grocery store. Usually the blends have cute little names, like the BluePom I saw the other day (blueberry and pomegranate, of course).

Cynicism aside, they really are good for you. They’re a great source of vitamin C, vitamin B5, potassium, and polyphenols. Polyphenols are those lovely healthy things that are in red wine and chocolate.

The trick is in opening a pomegranate. I went through a stage where I watched movies with a pomegranate in my hand, picking the seeds off one by one. As much fun as that was, it paled in comparison to the hours of fun I spent cleaning red spots off the couch.

So here’s my tip: do it in one fell swoop, underwater. Score the skin of the pomegranate, but don’t cut into the flesh. Submerge it in a bowl of water and crack it open. Once it’s underwater, it’s really easy to just give ‘er and pull all the tasty seeds from each other and from the membrane. You don’t need to worry about flying pomegranate juice, because it’s all absorbed by the water. When you’re done, the seeds sink to the bottom and all the membrane-y pieces float to the top. Done! Keep the scavenged seeds in a covered bowl in your fridge, where they’ll keep for a few days.

And if you’re really keen on a polyphenol kick, you should try the pomegranate truffle from Bad Girl Chocolates. Not only is she a local artisan (and okay, a friend of mine) but most of her chocolates are vegan. Now, normally I wouldn’t be too keen on vegan anything, but I honestly couldn’t tell that her chocolates were dairy-free. How about that? As if you needed another seal of approval, her chocolates are on the dessert menu at The Greedy Pig, which I’ve already proclaimed my undying love for.

Bad Girl Chocolates
604-291-9698
kelly@badgirlchocolates.com
www.badgirlchocolates.com

4 responses to “Pomegranates made easy

  1. Hi Eagranie! Hope you win tonight!!

  2. I used to buy the pomegranate arils pre-packed at my local market since it seemed far too much of a pain to deal with a whole fruit. But about 6 months ago I discovered the underwater trick, too, and now I only buy whole ones. They’re really inexpensive at the local farmers’ market and I go through them like hotcakes!

  3. ‘So last year’, funny introduction to a quite informative article. Thanks for the information.

Leave a Reply

