Top five food moments: #1

Five.

Four.

Three.

Two.

One.

This one’s intense. I really mean it. If you could channel the energy that goes into this moment, you could probably solve the world’s energy crisis.

My all-time favourite food moment is the second, or often split-second, before food arrives in front of me.

It usually happens in restaurants. I get excited when I order, because I can’t wait for the food to arrive. Inevitably, I get to talking and drinking and forget about it, but it all comes flooding back when I see the server approach my table with food.

It’s a seriously intense combination of excitement, anticipation and expectation. Hunger doesn’t even have anything to do with it. It’s like my brain anticipates how delicious that food will taste, how much my brain will light up with nerve impulses that scream “tasty!”, and how present it will feel in my stomach.

It doesn’t have to be a restaurant experience. It also happens when I or a friend have been cooking. It’s about being visually confronted with the fruits of your labour, and knowing how much effort and love has gone into it.

And maybe that’s it. When food is prepared properly – with love, respect and time – then I can’t wait to taste all those qualities in the food. And believe me, you can taste it.

Leave a Reply

