More pomegranates

Usually one post is enough to get something out of my system, but I still have pomegranates on the brain. So, I regale you with my list of Why I Like Pomegranates:

1. Pomegranate. It’s fun to say. Much more fun than, say, guava (the vowel’s too long) but not quite as much fun as banana (I like the repetition of it).

2. They’re good for you.

3. They’re fun to eat. What other food lets you eat individual, giant seeds and the fruit at the same time? As Cheryl pointed out, the actual name for the seed-fruit combination is aril.

3a. Can I just mention that I totally geeked out on the Wikipedia aril entry? It’s a deadly combination of Latin words, biology and food all rolled into one entry. On top of that, the note up top distinguishing aril (the aformentioned seed-fruit combination) from aryl (a chemistry term that Wikipedia has incorrectly defined as an organic chemical radical) links it back to chemistry. It’s beautiful.

4. They’re dead sexy, and I don’t really mean that in an ironic Austin Powers kind of way. There’s something about the moment when you crack open a pomegranate, and it’s all glistening and shiny with scarlet fruit. Sometimes, in the process of cracking it open, you accidentally cut into the fruit and there’s a rivulet of deep red juice that trickles onto your hands.

If pomegranates were people, they’d look like Carmen Sandiego. They’re definitely female, and I’m sure that they’re homewreckers. But dead sexy homewreckers, let me tell you.

Published by: Eagranie

7 years as a chemist + 9 months of culinary school + 2 years as a pastry chef & chocolatier + a lifetime of writing = this blog. This blog won't always be about chocolate, but it will almost certainly be about food. The name of the blog is a triple play on words. 1. It's a nod to my training as a classical pianist. Among other fantastic accomplishments, J.S. Bach combined technical prowess with artistic inspiration and penned the 24 preludes & fugues that make up The Well-Tempered Clavier, Books I and II. 2. In order to behave properly, chocolate needs to be tempered. In a nutshell, tempering prompts the chocolate to assume its most stable crystalline form (beta prime, if you're interested) so that it is shiny, snappy, and as stable as it can be. 3. Depending on my mood and how we meet, you might agree that I'm well-tempered. Or not.

Categories 2008, HomemadeTagsLeave a comment

Leave a comment