Heaven is made of chocolate caramel

I don’t do Christmas shopping. I hate shopping, I hate crowds, and I hate Christmas shopping. Ten years ago, I started doing edible gifts to supplement Christmas shopping, and now I do exclusively edible gifts. Everyone likes food. No one needs more crap.

This year’s selection consists of:

  • Sad gingerbread men: I make gingerbread every year, but this is the first year I’ll call them sad. I’ll have to post a picture, and then you’ll see why. They may be sad, but they make me smile.
  • Cranberry shortbread stars: Also a yearly favourite. Have you ever seen Like Water for Chocolate? There are several scenes where the cook’s mood influences the meal. I’ve always believed in this a little bit, because I know my food is tastier when I’m happy. When I made the dough for these cookies, I was really upset. (Never you mind why.) Well, wouldn’t you know it – I’ve never seen such a sad excuse for cookies. They’re still passable, but definitely not up to my usual standards. Very strange.
  • Chocolate-chocolate snowflakes: An experiment for 2008, these cookies are dark and chocolatey. I felt like showing off my mad piping skillz, so they’ve got chocolate piping, non-pareils and silver dragees to make them shiny and festive.
  • Orange-almond sablees: Also an experiment for 2008, these are made with almond flour and lots of orange zest, with sanded sugar around the edges. They look so dainty and demure, but they pack a powerful citrus-y punch.
  • Chocolate caramels: Made from a recipe I used in culinary school, I think I might just keep all of these for myself. Smoky salted caramel meets bittersweet chocolate in a seriously grownup candy.

There are some very lucky folks who will be getting Christmas sweets this year. (This is no time to be humble; I know this stuff is good.)

Pictures to come…

2 responses to “Heaven is made of chocolate caramel

  1. OK , lady. Here’s a bone. I’d like to pick it. With you.
    Your chocolate caramels are insanely, stupidly, strangle-your-Grandma-for-a-taste faaaaabulous… but what’s with the packaging?! Seriously! You need a degree in physics to open the things! Luckily the two-hour fight with the cellophane was worth it. WELL worth it. Oooooh, gooey caramel-ly goodness! :o)

    I’m privileged to be one of the lucky recipients xo

  2. You were a packaging guinea pig, darling. I figured out a better way this evening.

    Maybe it was an intentional lesson in delayed gratification…?

Leave a Reply

