New year, new resolutions

I always make New Year’s resolutions, and I usually do keep them. The trick is in crafting resolutions that you’re likely to keep.

For instance, for 2007, I resolved to have more fun and eat more macaroons. That was a good year.

For 2008, I resolved to learn how to play the accordion. Heh. That one didn’t quite work out.

So, for 2009, I resolve to:

  • eat at all of Andrey Durbach’s restaurants. I’ve already eaten at Pied a Terre, so I just need to make my way to La Buca and Parkside.
  • stop eating at the same places all the damn time, even if they’re good. For instance, I’ve yet to eat at La Quercia, Campagnolo, or Les Faux Bourgeois.
  • be more present. The wheels in my head are always chugging along, and I’d like to take a few moments to just sit and be present.
  • run the 10km Vancouver Sun Run in under 60 minutes. I ran 10km in 2005 and 2007 for National Capital Race Weekend and came in at 58 minutes and 62 minutes, respectively.

Published by: Eagranie

7 years as a chemist + 9 months of culinary school + 2 years as a pastry chef & chocolatier + a lifetime of writing = this blog. This blog won't always be about chocolate, but it will almost certainly be about food. The name of the blog is a triple play on words. 1. It's a nod to my training as a classical pianist. Among other fantastic accomplishments, J.S. Bach combined technical prowess with artistic inspiration and penned the 24 preludes & fugues that make up The Well-Tempered Clavier, Books I and II. 2. In order to behave properly, chocolate needs to be tempered. In a nutshell, tempering prompts the chocolate to assume its most stable crystalline form (beta prime, if you're interested) so that it is shiny, snappy, and as stable as it can be. 3. Depending on my mood and how we meet, you might agree that I'm well-tempered. Or not.

Categories 2009Tags7 Comments

7 thoughts on “New year, new resolutions”

  1. oooh i’ve been dying to go to those restaurants too! one of my resolutions was to eat out less, but i may have to make exceptions for new restaurants 🙂

  2. I was able to squeak in Campagnolo on New Year’s eve (amazing) but the rest of those (including the running) are on my list too. Also: drink more water. happy new year!

  3. Happy new year, lovelies!

    mel, maybe we can keep each other on track. I’m notoriously bad at training.

    col, i think that’s a legitimate exception to your resolution.

    degan, I’m glad you got a chance to try Campagnolo. You’ll have to tell me about it sometime. And drinking more water – I always forget about that one.

  4. I went to Le Faux Bourgeois a few months ago – good food and not too pricey (and a block from my old place.. wish it had been there when I was living there!).

    I’ve been itching to try Campagnolo too.

    Dine out??

  5. oops
    by Dine out?? I meant – are you doing any Dine Out restaurants? i would be up for a night out

Leave a comment